Some thoughts on the first Mae Murray biography

Mae Murray: The Girl with the Bee-Stung Lips

On my desk, I have two copies of The Self-Enchanted, the biography that Jane Ardmore wrote with Mae Murray’s assistance in the late 1950s.

One is a copy I marked and tagged as I researched and wrote my own biography, Mae Murray: The Girl with the Bee-Stung Lips, due out this fall.

The other is a copy that Mae and Jane autographed and presented to Mae’s representative at William Morris, Sylvia Hirsch.

I like them both for different reasons and keep them within arm’s reach. I like the feel, smell, and look of books that were released decades ago. My weakness, as if you didn’t know by now, is celebrity biographies.

Mae Murray had toyed with the idea of writing an autobiography for decades.  Along the way, she approached a number of writers, who believed the fact-fearing Mae would never come clean about her childhood, her early career…

View original post 441 more words

Leave a Reply

