Frank “EEE-Yeeeeeeeeeesss?” Nelson

On this day in 1911, Frank Nelson was born.  You may not know the name, but you know his voice! “EEE-Yeeeeeeeeeesss?”

Frank Nelson

Frank Nelson

 

As a kid, I didn’t  know much about Nelson, but I saw him everywhere on re-runs of early television shows. I even remember his voice on an Bugs Bunny cartoon. I became a real fan in the 1970s when he occasionally showed up on  Sanford & Son and belt out his familiar “EEE-Yeeeeeeeeesssss?”

Here he is on I Love Lucy and Jack Benny.

Frank and Lucy

Frank and Lucy

In the early 1980s, I dropped Frank a letter and asked him what advice he would give to a young man just starting out in the world. Here’s what he said.

FrankNelson_0001

 

FrankNelson2

 

I really miss the Frank Nelsons of early television.  They don’t make them like that any more, do they?  “EEE-N0000000000000.”

Leave a Reply

