Journeys in Classic Film reviews Mae Murray: The Girl with the Bee-Stung Lips

I am always elated and very appreciative when reviewers of my work take the time to ponder the message I am trying to get across in my writing. Journeys in Classic Film, in their review of my latest book, Mae Murray: The Girl with the Bee-Stung Lips, does just that.

For me, the greatest compliment a writer can receive is summed up in Kristen’s (the author’s) thoughts about my introduction. She writes, “The introduction by author Michael Ankerich is heartfelt, genuine, and is aware that by the end of his research he had to present a biography, warts and all.” 

Heartfelt, genuine, and objective!

I remember sitting at Mae’s gravesite during the writing of Mae Murray: The Girl with the Bee-Stung Lips and talking to her about the approach I was taking in telling her story. It would be neither a whitewash or a hatchet job.

“Mae, my story about your life won’t always be flattering, but it will be fair.”

Maybe I was talking to the grass and a bronze marker that afternoon, but it helped me clear the cobwebs and get on with telling the story.

Thanks, Kristen and Journeys in Classic Film.

Read Kristen’s review here.

Cover2

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

