Mae Murray biographer to speak at Valentino Memorial, sign books at Book Soup

By Michael G. Ankerich

My friends in Los Angeles and surrounding environs, mark your calendars for these dates: Friday, August 23, and Saturday, August 24. I want to meet you!

While I am in LA doing research for my new book, Hairpins and Dead Ends: The Perilous Journeys of 20 Actresses Through Early Hollywood, I am making appearances at two events.

I am delighted to have been asked to speak at the annual Valentino Memorial, set for Friday, August 23, at Hollywood Forever Cemetery, in Hollywood. I will talk briefly about Rudy’s friendship with Mae Murray, a close relationship that lasted over 10 years.

Rudolph Valentino and Mae Murray, fall of 1925.

Rudolph Valentino and Mae Murray, fall of 1925.

In preparation for the release of my latest book, Mae Murray: The Girl with the Bee-Stung Lips, I posted an interview on YouTube that Mae did in 1960. In this segment, she talks at length about Rudy.  Check it out here!

I have visited Rudy’s crypt countless times over the decades, but this is my first time attending the annual memorial. I’m looking forward to being there.

The next day, Saturday, August 24, at 4 p.m., I am signing my Mae Murray biography, Mae Murray: The Girl with the Bee-Stung Lips, at Book Soup, 8818 Sunset Blvd., West Hollywood.  I would love to meet you!

Cover2

Recap – 

  • Friday, August 23, 2013 – Valentino Memorial
  • Saturday, August 24, 2013, at 4 p.m. – Book signing at Book Soup

More details to come about these events!

Leave a Reply

