Mae Murray: Norma Desmond meets Baby Jane Hudson?


I got a real kick out of Donna Lethal’s review of Mae Murray: The Girl with the Bee-Stung Lips!  Her blog is called Lethal Dose.  I would highly recommend it.

Here is what Ms. Lethal said:

Miss Mae

I’ve always been a huge fan of Mae Murray. I wrote a small bit about her in Weird Hollywood as she’s buried here at Valhalla. What is it about “Miss Itsy-Poo of 1922” that’s so bizarrely endearing? That Norma Desmond-meets-Baby Jane yet you just have to love her because of, not in spite of it…her steadfast refusal to deny that Hollywood has turned its back on her and at the same time, refuse all efforts to face the present. “Never heard of him,” she’d answer when questioned in her later years about her first husband. Now that’s a woman I just adore.There’s a new book out now by Michael Ankerich called Mae Murray: The Girl with the Bee-Stung Lips that’s a must-read. I devoured it in two nights. I won’t spoil it for you – get it!

Thanks, Donna!  Glad you like my book about Our Little Miss Mae, who is certainly enjoying the recent attention.
maeprofile

One response to “Mae Murray: Norma Desmond meets Baby Jane Hudson?”

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.